Friends of the Tenth

Every year since the Battle of Arnhem in 1944, a commemoration service and parade has been held in the village of Somerby, but there has been a great desire among many associated with the 10th Battalion, the Parachute Regiment to do more.

What transpired then, was the formation of Friends of the Tenth by relatives of Battalion officers and servicemen, members of the Parachute Regimental Association, Leicester Branch, and people from both Somerby and surrounding villages.

The group was formed with the intention of creating a legacy and lasting memorial to those who paid the ultimate sacrifice at Arnhem through the design and installation of a commemorative sculpture in the parish of Somerby.

The 10th Battalion had been stationed in and around Somerby in the lead-up to their parachute drop 64 miles behind enemy lines in Holland.

What many villagers who were around at that time will never forget is that 582 men left on that fateful mission on September 18th, but only 36 survivors returned there two weeks later following the end to the Battle of Arnhem.

Friends of the Tenth’s mission now is to ensure their place in history, their bravery and their sacrifice is remembered by so many more.



President                                         Jennifer, Lady Gretton DCVO JP

Patron                                              Major General Ranald Munro CBE TD VR

Patron in the Netherlands       Robert Voskuil

Chairman                              Alec Wilson

Vice Chairman                    John Gibbard

Trustees                                  Alec Wilson, Jeanie Holland, Grahame Warner, Tim Hall-Wilson

Fund Raising Committee         Tim Hall Wilson, Asgoo Pirbhai, Terry Lowe, Alec Wilson

Parish Council Officer      Councillor Pat Fynn

Battalion History                 Grahame Warner

Sculptor                                     Graeme Mitcheson

Social Events                          Tina Cooper

Next of Kin                               Jeanie Holland, Martin Wyke

Parachute Regiment             Major Sean Philips, Matt Lee, Terry Lowe

Somerby                                      Davina Bates, Melanie Davies, Amanda Howe, Jayne Montgomery-Stuart, Keith Hamilton (architectural & planning advisor), Colin Marlow.

Thorpe Satchville                     Jane & Neil Thorley

The Netherlands                       Arjan Vrieze, Liset Vos